EXPLAINING END OF HALF SCENARIO
With just 21 seconds left in the second quarter, the Lions were driving at the Chicago 33-yard line. They faced a 1st & 10. Goff lofted a pass down the right sideline that rookie wide receiver Isaac TeSlaa made a diving one-hand grab on.
After initially being ruled out of bounds on the play and the clock stopped, it was changed to TeSlaa being ruled down by contact with 16 seconds on the clock. Because the clock was stopped when it shouldn’t have been and the Lions were out of timeouts, there was a 10 second runoff to six seconds.
Detroit was able to run one more play. Goff hit St. Brown for a 6-yard touchdown with two seconds left in the half.
“They ruled that it was a completed catch with the receiver out of bounds,” NFL Vice President of Instant Replay Mark Butterworth told PFWA Pool Reporter Nolan Bianchi after the game. “The impact of that ruling is the clock stopped because they ruled him out of bounds. If they ruled him in bounds with the catch the clock would continue to run.
“We stopped the game through replay to confirm the catch, which we were able to do. We confirmed there was contact by the defense after he controlled the ball, and we had his leg in bounds prior to going out of bounds. Therefore, the clock should have continued to run. So, we reset the clock to the down by contact time and then ran 10 seconds.”
Source link